2021 Recognition Luncheon Honors YSS Supporters

 YSS held its 2021 Recognition Luncheon on Dec. 16 at the Gateway Hotel in Ames. The annual event celebrates YSS’s supporters, highlights the organization’s achievements, and looks to the year ahead.


Dr. Charles Small of the YSS Foundation Board of Trustees and Andrew Allen, YSS President & CEO, gave welcoming remarks. 


The following award winners were honored: 


+ Chief Mike Tupper, Youth Advocacy & Leadership Award 

+ Adele and Dean Bowden, Outstanding Philanthropy Award 

+ Kelly Garcia, Outstanding Contribution to the Well-Being of Children and Youth Award 

+ Brian, Mary, Drake, Nicholas, and Grace Lohse, Volunteer Fundraising Leadership Award 

+ Associate Professor Julie Stevens and the ISU Advanced Landscape Architectural Design Class, Youth to Youth Award 

+ Kathy and Ron Birkestrand, Volunteer Leadership and Service Award, YSS of Hamilton County 

+ Laura Jontz, Volunteer Leadership and Service Award, IHYC 

+ Lt. Kiel Stevenson and Lt. Sadie Weekley, Volunteer Leadership and Service Award, YSS of Marshall County 

+ Sandi Johnson (posthumous), Volunteer Leadership and Service Award, YSS of Boone County 

+ Ozzie Ohl, Volunteer Leadership and Service Award, YSS Francis Lauer 

+ Dominic Lam, Dr. George Inspiring Hope Award 

+ Andrea Dickerson, Dr. George Founder’s Award 


Lindsey Long of the YSS Board of Directors gave closing remarks. The luncheon and ceremony was attended by donors, staff, supporters and their families.  


Other News

YSS Holiday Giving brings joy to hundreds of youth and families in need

Thanks to generous donors and community supporters, YSS helped bring joy and hope to local youth and families this holiday season. Through its annual Holiday Giving initiative, YSS collected gifts and essential supplies for those in need.   YSS Adopt-a-Family program...


Kiera’s Story

In early 2021, YSS of Marshall County partnered with the Marshalltown Police Department to launch a new initiative called MPACT. [caption id="attachment_11041" align="alignleft" width="551"] Pictured: Darcy Andersen and Autumn Drewelow, YSS community advocates for MPACT.[/caption] MPACT (Marshalltown Police & Community Team)...

See all News